As you have already learned, The Catholic University of America is more than just a college. It is a university: a community of interdependent units of study and research known as schools. A number of schools constitute the University: Arts and Sciences; Architecture and Planning; the Busch School of Business; Canon Law; Engineering; the Columbus School of Law; the Benjamin T. Rome School of Music, Drama, and Art; Conway School of Nursing; Philosophy; the National Catholic School of Social Service; Theology and Religious Studies; and the Metropolitan School of Professional Studies. The School of Arts and Sciences is the largest in the University and consists of 17 academic departments and a number of special programs. Each of these departments controls the content of the programs they administer, and you should consult the departmental websites for the detailed information concerning completion of your major. But there are regulations that all B.A. and B.S. programs must follow, and the university imposes general education requirements as part of the Liberal Arts Curriculum that all students must complete.

The purpose of this section is to provide you with the details of those general regulations and distribution requirements. It is particularly important that you read the section on how to fulfill requirements in the liberal arts curriculum, because that is the area in which most scheduling errors occur. There is also a checklist of common problems that contains a capsule summary of those most common ways in which students run into difficulties in completing their degree requirements.

Updated May 10, 2023